top of page

The Whiskey Ward - A Bar Review


The Whiskey Ward's one of my favorite bars in the world. It doesn't have the broadest selection of whiskies (that'd be Jack Rose). It doesn't have the best prices (that'd be Avenue Pub). It isn't the prettiest, by a long shot (sorry, guys!). But it's the bar to which I return time and time again, and pretty much every time I have the pleasure of finding myself in New York.

The Whiskey Ward's a place where I've enjoyed sampling many a dram with old friends. In fact, it's the place where I first tried the scotch that really got me into this hobby, Laphroaig 15 200th Anniversary.

Atmosphere and Service: This is a classic, no-frills, quasi-dive bar that happens to have a hell of a whiskey collection. Wood paneling in abundance? Check. Chalkboards with the day's specials and the current bottles? Check. Barrels that double as tables? Double-check.

Selection: One thing I appreciate about The Whiskey Ward, and wish more bars would do, is keep an up-to-date stock list on their website. Admittedly, it'd a lot of effort, and bottles will come in and out of rotation as they are finished. But as a true scotch fan, I enjoy poring over a menu and deciding what I want to try in advance -- or, for that matter, deciding whether a bar is even worth visiting.

With 80-plus bourbons, 30 ryes, 20 Irish whiskies, assorted varieties from the rest of the world (Japan, Taiwan, India, France), and more scotches than I care to count, this is one of the deepest collections in New York. One feature that I want in any self-respecting whisky bar is a menu that divides its scotch selection by region (Islay, Highlands, Speyside, etc.), which lets me know that the bar is going to stock at least 10-15 examples of each regional variation. That's exactly what The Whiskey Ward does.

Rare Bottles: These guys have a healthy collection of rare and expensive bottles, although I think that they shine in the mid- to high-range, where they price their pours much more affordably than other New York establishments. I didn't splurge on my last trip there, but a 17-year old Signatory Cask Strength Laphroaig was mighty tempting. Whiskey Ward also features bottles from upstart American independent bottler Single Cask Nation and a lot of coveted bottles of American bourbon or rye, such as Kentucky Owl, Parker's Heritage, and Whistlepig Boss Hog Black Prince. That last one is $80 for a dram, so I'm pretty sure that I'm not going to get to try it anytime soon.

Value: Keep in mind you're in New York, and if you're at The Whiskey Ward, then you're on the Lower East Side. This is not a cheap neighborhood -- I'm pretty sure old, ratty studios there go for $500,000 and up nowadays. With that caveat, this is a reasonably, even cheaply, priced neighborhood bar. Moreover, it serves its whiskies with true 2-ounce pours, which is a rarity. In comparison, most of its competitors serve 1.5-ounce pours, and their price per pour is higher than this place. I'm not really sure how they do it, but I'm not going to complain about the wide range of high-end scotches that they offer at under $20. Even better, if you want to try more, you can ask for a 1-ounce pour for half the price.

***

I've reviewed 30-odd bars and distilleries on this blog so far, and I've enjoyed them all. That being said, there are only a handful of bars that are both close enough and good enough that I plan on visiting them many more times in the future. The Whiskey Ward on the Lower East Side is one of those bars. Slainte mhath!

bottom of page