top of page

Penny for Your Thoughts - Port Charlotte Scottish Barley, Oban 14


Continuing the march through our London whiskey trials, these are two we had on our first night in London.

Port Charlotte Scottish Barley (50% ABV) - When I spotted this one on the shelves of Milroy's, I was excited to try it. Although I've tried multiple expressions from most of Islay's distilleries, I've had a harder time finding and trying Bruichladdich's whiskies, which are split into three lines. The Bruichladdich main line is unpeated whisky, while Port Charlotte is peated within the normal Islay range (i.e., heavily peated by most standards), and Octomore is peated to mindbending levels unmatched anywhere else (three to five times the normal level for heavily peated scotches). The peat reek of the nose is virtually overwhelming, but it's not typical for Islay scotches. There is no smokiness to it, just a distinct, almost fungal or mossy smell, like raw mushrooms and rich forest soil. It reminds me of the mink oil used to restore the suppleness of leather, which, to be honest, is not my favorite scent. The taste has a citrus malt combination that's a familiar signature of other Islay distilleries, particularly the nearby Kilchoman. But that oily, almost pungent peat still expresses itself strongly. Overripe banana or compost are the unflattering descriptors I'd give this flavor. That note is so strong that it dominates the finish for me, along with some bitter oak. I did not like Octomore 07.3, and, sad to say, I'm not a fan of Port Charlotte either. It may just be an acquired taste. C+

Oban 14 (43%) - Oban 14 is located on the way to Skye from the Lowlands, and it also strikes me as occupying a niche somewhere between a pure Lowlands scotch and a lightly peated, peppery, floral island malt like Talisker. Oban's nose is fruity and reminiscent of Chinese rice wine. Apricot is the first fruit that comes to mind. The palate is sweet, floral, and slightly herbal, with a wisp of peat. The dominant flavor is the core, malt profile that defines most scotches for me. It really almost tastes like a blend in how it balances out various flavor profiles together, without having a strong identity. The age manifests at the end in a tail of bitter oak. I want more personality in a single malt, so Oban 14 would be a solid session dram but not one I'd pluck off the shelves of any liquor store with a deep enough selection to have Oban in stock. B

bottom of page