top of page

Penny for Your Thoughts - Maker's Mark, Maker's 46, Jack Daniel's, Crown Royal


Two of today's quick-hit reviews come from the same distillery, and one of the few Kentucky mega-distilleries that I haven't reviewed yet: Maker's Mark.

Maker's Mark (45%) - For two or three years right after I graduated from school, Maker's Mark was my generic go-to if ordering at bars with a small selection because of its wide availability, reasonable price, and (to be fully honest with myself) its upscale, sophisticated image. That attractive red wax seal at the top! It seemed like a drink that an adult would drink! On further reflection, and having had many more bourbons now, I've realized that I don't like Maker's Mark all that much. In fact, in general, I like wheated bourbons less than their rye-recipe cousins. Maker's Mark is a classic inexpensive wheater, very similar in tasting notes to Larceny. Its nose and palate redound with sweet caramel, and I enjoy the warmth of its finish. But it has the harsh edge of a young spirit and too much of that magic marker scent that I associate with young wheated bourbons in particular. It's also hotter on the finish than I'd expect at its ABV. I don't expect a flawless bourbon at the entry level, but if I could go back in time, I'd tell my 24-year old self to just order a Buffalo Trace and leave Maker's Mark where it belongs -- seasoning the barrels that end up aging Laphroaig scotch. C+

Maker's 46 (47%) - What a difference a measure of additional aging in a different barrel type can make! Maker's 46 is basically Maker's Mark, with an additional resting period in barrels made in part of seared French oak staves. The idea, or so I read on the interwebs, is that the seared (rather than charred) wood imparts more sweet flavor to this bourbon. In this case, I don't think that's just marketing hype. The nose is dramatically better than its younger brother, with a wallop of cherries and bright, sweet flavors that I associate with those twist-off cap juices that I'd drink as a kid after little league games. This bourbon feels like 1980s-1990s Americana. The palate comes closer to traditional bourbon flavors, with a little spice from that oak mingling with and balancing out the strong cherry presence. Unlike the hot finish of Maker's Mark, Maker's 46 has a longer but milder finish, and again cherries and maple syrup were the primary notes I detected. It's also reasonably priced at around $40, and well worth the step up from the $30 it'll cost to pick up a bottle of Maker's Mark. B+

Jack Daniel's No. 7 (40%) - This is about as college as whiskies get. The nose isn't all that bad, actually, but it's nothing I'd want to contemplate at length. There is an oily, nutty, banana quality to it, but it quickly degrades into something slightly chemical or remiscent of compost. There's a reason why you throw shots of this back. The taste is heavy on the Werther's butter candies and some smokiness. Finish -- what finish? I get why these flavors go well with Coke for the iconic highball, but this is not a whiskey I'd drink straight or on a night when I wasn't already a few deep. C

Crown Royal (40%) - This was my trivia night pick at Better Days in Brickell. Right off the bat, I'm pleasantly surprised by the nose, which is dominated by vanilla and is immediately appetizing. It's not complex, but it's likable. The problem is that this whiskey tastes like young grain on the palate, so those cereal notes and a very mild sweetness shine through, without more distinctive notes. Perhaps, being generous, one would describe the sweetness as toffee. The palate is thin and the flavors faint. The finish is kind of like brushing sandpaper across your tongue, it just feels rough and bitter without much else there. C

bottom of page