top of page

Penny for Your Thoughts - E.H. Taylor Single Barrel, Orphan Barrel Forged Oak


I'm working my way through a large set of rare bourbon samples -- these are two that I've seen on the shelf in a few stores, although for inflated prices. In many parts of the country, however, these are either allocated or sold by lottery.

E.H. Taylor Single Barrel (50% ABV) - Taylor is one of Buffalo Trace's higher-end offerings, a tier above Eagle Rare and in the same stratosphere as Stagg Jr. or Blanton's. It's bottled at a slightly higher ABV than most of Buffalo Trace's bourbons, somewhere in between the standard 45% baseline and their barrel proof offerings. The larger E.H. Taylor collection features some interesting and experimental mashbills and wood finishes, but this Single Barrel represents their core flavor profile. This bourbon has a well-balanced nose of vanilla, oak, and caramel, with one extra cool flavor: strawberry gumdrops. Compared to the nose, the palate seems hollow in some ways, featuring some corn and sweet caramel, but not much else. I kept tasting it and wondering when more flavors would emerge, but it presents the same solid if unexceptional flavors. The finish opens up with apple cider and baking spices, some astringent oak, and then has a lingering heat. It's hotter than I expected at this ABV, and not quite worth the $70-80 price tag it commands. B

Orphan Barrel Forged Oak (45.25%) - This is the rare bourbon that carries a double-digit age statement: 15 years. It's also part of Diageo's famous (or infamous) Orphan Barrel series, where the company has been releasing older stocks of bourbon with unique names (Barterhouse, Gifted Horse) and top-shelf price tags. The nose is waxy and mainly features the woody and vanilla scents of oak -- I almost wanted to shout, "Timber!" when drinking it. The palate is not as complex as I'd hope for the age, with subtly sweet flavors, but first and foremost a bittersweet oak. I had a hard time pinpointing or describing flavors, but I didn't find a lot of the typical caramel or fruit flavors of other bourbons. The finish is well-rounded and mild: banana nut muffins, spice, and oak. The finish is the best part. I've seen this bourbon for $90 and I've seen it for $150, and I wouldn't buy it at either price. B-

bottom of page