top of page

Penny for Your Thoughts - BenRiach 10, Bulleit Rye, Gentleman Jack, Angel's Envy


BenRiach 10 (43% ABV) - BenRiach is not as well known as some of its Speyside peers, but perhaps it should be. On the nose, I get stone fruit, like peach, sherry, toffee, and a little hint of ethanol. It is an easy-drinking scotch, with a slightly nutty, sherry-influenced palate, a few streaks of oak and cocoa, and an almost ale-like richness or spiciness. BenRiach 10 ends with a malty finish of good length, with just a little bitterness, copper, and sulfur, but also more pleasant notes of cocoa, citrus acid, and grape. This scotch reminds me of a dilute Aberlour A'bunadh, and is better than Glenfarclas 12. It also comes in a peated version, which I'm looking forward to trying. B+

Bulleit Rye (45%) - My first note on this rye was "two-dimensional." That's exactly the issue with it. It hits the core rye flavors well, kind of like how Bulleit bourbon hits the core high-rye bourbon flavors well. But everything is served up right away, without much development after that point. The nose is vanilla and oak, actually more like a bourbon than a rye. The palate is a classic rye, with strong spice, pepper, and some Capri Sun-esque sweetness. The finish is very crushed-red-pepper and black pepper spicy. It's not expensive, so it'd be a good cocktail mixer. B-

Jack Daniel's Gentleman Jack (40%) - This whiskey is an example of how a drop in proof, or perhaps standards, can make such a difference in the drinking experience of a whiskey. I wonder if the bar where I tried this had an old, over-oxidized bottle. The nose holds up well: banana bread, fresh banana, brown sugar, and the vanilla aspects of the barrel. It is a great combination of scents. But the palate is stunningly watery, a little grassy, with faint flavors that resemble bourbon. It's almost like I accidentally spilled water into the glass and diluted it down to 25%. It's strange. It gets even stranger because the finish is warm butterscotch and whipped cream on banana pudding -- again, very pleasant. If the palate had the same flavors, this would be a B+, but a drink that's missing a palate isn't much of a drink. C

Angel's Envy Bourbon (43.3%) - I have a soft spot for this bourbon in my heart because of the first time I tried it. At my best friend's wedding, the father of the bride brought the groomsmen a bottle two hours before the ceremony. The bottle was beautiful, with those arcing angel's wings gracing the glass. We passed it around, taking pulls until we finished it, and then left it on the worn, wooden floor and went down to get my friend married. I got another glass this weekend, a year and a half later. It's enjoyable but not a knockout. The nose doesn't reveal too much of the port influence, instead favoring a vanilla and toasted oak combination that I associate with more heavily aged bourbons. It tastes of that oak as well, along with some pronounced grape flavor, which is where the influence of the port pipes shows up. The finish is drying, a little grassy, and overoaked in my estimation. I'm shocked this bourbon is aged only 4 to 6 years, it has picked up a heap of oak influence in that time. At the price point ($50), I'd prefer something a bit more well-rounded like Russell's Reserve Single Barrel or Four Roses Single Barrel, both of which have more pronounced, sweet, fruity notes. I'll always treasure the memories of the first time I tried this, but Angel's Envy is not going to be a regular in my rotation. B-

bottom of page